Abbott Wins SKATING magazine 2014 Readers' Choice Skater of the Year Award

(7/31/14) - Jeremy Abbott is SKATING magazine's 2014 Readers' Choice Award winner. Abbott earned his fourth U.S. title in January and won a bronze medal in the inaugural Olympic Team Event in Sochi, Russia.

Through online voting on icenetwork during the week of June 30, SKATING readers cast their ballots for the athlete or team they felt most deserving of the award based on the accomplishments of the past season. More than 20,000 votes were cast during the balloting period. Olympian Jason Brown finished second in the voting, with Olympic ice dance champions Meryl Davis and Charlie White garnering the third-most votes.

Abbott, 29, will be presented with the Michelle Kwan Trophy, which represents both the sport of figure skating and SKATING magazine, at the 2015 U.S. Championships in Greensboro, N.C. The trophy is a one-of-a-kind crystal sculpture designed by Crystal Signatures of Pennsylvania.

"I am incredibly honored to be receiving this award," Abbott said. "I have such incredible fans from around the world that I have been privileged enough to meet and skate for. My skating has always been about more than points and placements. I love to give to the audience. I love to take them on my journey with me, and I'm so grateful that they can feel that."

Abbott's season featured many highlights, including winning a bronze medal at the NHK Trophy in Japan, capturing his fourth U.S. title in Boston with a record-setting short program (99.86 points), qualifying for his second Olympic Winter Games, securing a bronze medal as a member of Team USA in the inaugural Olympic Team Event and rallying to finish fifth at the World Championships to help the U.S. gain three spots for the 2015 World Championships.

"I am still in awe of all of this," Abbott said. "However, the epic fall I took at the Olympics in the short program has had the biggest effect on me. I've heard so many different stories about how that moment affected people - how it inspired them and motivated them and gave them courage to do things in their lives that they thought weren't possible. Hearing these stories and sharing these moments are more valuable and will last longer than any medal. So, I just want to thank again the fans, from the hard core to the casual Olympic viewer, because you guys make the effort all worthwhile."

Readers' Choice Award winners
2014 - Jeremy Abbott
2013 - Meryl Davis/Charlie White
2012 - Ashley Wagner
2011 - Meryl Davis/Charlie White
2010 - Johnny Weir
2009 - Evan Lysacek
2008 - Johnny Weir
2007 - Miami University
2006 - Kimmie Meissner
2005 - Tanith Belbin/Ben Agosto
2004 - Sasha Cohen, Haydenettes (tie)
2003 - Michelle Kwan
2002 - Michelle Kwan
2001 - Michelle Kwan
2000 - Michael Weiss
1999 - Michelle Kwan
1998 - Michelle Kwan
1997 - Tara Lipinski
1996 - Michelle Kwan
1995 - Todd Eldredge
1994 - Michelle Kwan
1993 - Scott Davis
1992 - Paul Wylie
1991 - Tonya Harding
1990 - Jill Trenary
1989 - Kristi Yamaguchi

Bookmark and Share