U.S. Figure Skating Announces Team for 2017 World Team Trophy

(4/5/17) - U.S. Figure Skating has announced the eight athletes who will represent Team USA at the 2017 ISU World Team Trophy April 20-23 in Tokyo. World Team Trophy features the six best figure skating teams of the 2016-17 season, which includes Canada, China, France, Japan, Russia and the United States.

Karen Chen
Ashley Wagner
Alternate: Mirai Nagasu

Jason Brown
Nathan Chen
Alternate: Vincent Zhou

Ashley Cain and Timothy LeDuc
Alternate: Marissa Castelli/Mervin Tran

Ice Dance
Madison Chock and Evan Bates
Alternate: Madison Hubbell/Zachary Donohue

Each team consists of two ladies, two men, one pairs team and one ice dance team. Each skater will receive points based on placements in the short program/dance and free skate/dance. The points will be combined across the four disciplines with the highest point total winning.

Held every odd year, Team USA has medaled in all four World Team Trophy events. Most recently, Team USA won the event in 2015, scoring 110 points to top other podium finishers Russia and Japan. The United States won the inaugural 2009 competition and also won gold in 2013. It earned silver in 2012 (held in an even year because the 2011 event was postponed due to an earthquake and tsunami in Japan).

U.S. skaters qualified for World Team Trophy based on results of the most recent World Championships, the ISU Grand Prix and Junior Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series and Final, the Four Continents Championships and the ISU World Standings. Teams will compete for a total of $1 million USD in prize money.